The Executive Committee


Ms. Dawn Wallam, Chairperson
Dawn Wallam was elected Chairperson in 2016. Dawn is a Wadandi woman of the Nyoongar Nation who has developed a work history of over 40 years. Dawn is a founding member of Nyoongar Outreach and brings a wealth of skills and knowledge to the organisation in her role as Chairperson.

Dawn is highly committed to ensuring excellence in governance and service provision and has a passion for improving the well-being of Aboriginal children. Through both paid and voluntary community work and self-education, Dawn has undertaken tertiary studies to develop knowledge, skills and abilities and to gain a broader perspective and enhanced understanding of community needs, maximising her potential to foster best practice in herself and others.

Dawn has been proactive in representing Aboriginal children and family issues at all levels, including local, state, national and international forums in her many advocacy roles. Dawn is also the 2018 recipient of the Community Services Excellence Award for ‘Excellence in Leadership’.


Mr. Neville Collard, Vice Chairperson
In 1998 Neville Collard was one of the co-founders of the Nyoongar Patrol System Inc. A longstanding Committee member and Chairman (2001 to 2003), Neville has many years of experience in the justice system and various government agency sectors. Neville has contributed his extensive justice knowledge to the development of Nyoongar Outreach Services Inc. and assisted the organisation in the implementation of its operational plans. Neville was elected Vice Chairperson in 2016.


Ms. Barbara Stack, Treasurer
Ms. Stack served as the Outreach Co-ordinator with Nyoongar Outreach Services for 7 years before becoming a Committee member in 2010. Currently, Ms Stack is also a health worker with the Derbal Yerrigan Health Service in the area of chronic health. She has developed a wealth of knowledge and experience working in the community.


Mr. Jeremy Garlett, Secretary
Aboriginal radio founder (6NR) and currently Aboriginal radio presenter with Nyoongar Radio 100.9FM, Jeremy Garlett was elected to the Committee in 2010. Mr. Garlett’s past experience includes the position of Manager of Bloodwood Youth Accommodation. He also worked with the WA Police Service within Perth metropolitan stations between 1995 and 2014. He studied in broadcasting and community services at Curtin University.


Mr. Farley Garlett, Commitee Member
Mr. Farley Garlett was born in Bruce Rock and raised in Balladong country, he worked in Kununurra and Carnarvon before moving to Perth. Farley’s outreach experience began with grass roots connections with at risk Aboriginal people as the Palmerstons Men’s night shelter manager and Aboriginal liaison officer at the Cyril Jackson Senior Campus. This has grown into many years of high-level experience in local and national Indigenous governance committees, including Chairperson of Nyoongar Outreach Services between 2010 and 2016.

A strong advocate for Aboriginal people, Mr. Garlett was elected as the Chairperson Perth Noongar Regional Council, ATSIC from 1999 to 2002 and then was elected as the WA ATSIC Commissioner. He has vast experience in working with youth at risk, within the education system, Aboriginal Communities and with Aboriginal families. In addition to this he has had many years’ experience working in a lead role in Aboriginal Relations on mining sites throughout Western Australia. Mr Garlett is also a Board member of Mandjah Boodjah Aboriginal Corporation and executive member of Nyoongar MiaMia Housing Corporation.


Public Officer


Ms. Maria McAtackney, CEO
Elected as Public Officer in 2016, Maria McAtackney is Chief Executive Officer of Nyoongar Outreach Services Inc., a position held since 1999. Maria has responsibility for overseeing the strategic planning and decision making for the organisation. Maria’s work experience in Indigenous health and community safety span almost 30 years. She has served in both senior and executive management roles, specialising in employment and project planning, implementation and evaluations in the areas of training, employment, social development, crime prevention and community safety.

 Maria’s academic qualifications include a Master of Business Administration, Graduate Diploma Human Resources Management, and a B.A in Behavioural Studies (Edith Cowan University). In 1996, Maria was awarded the WA non-Indigenous Person of the Year Award and is a Professional Member of Australian Institute of Management.